Quantcast
≡ Menu

Book Review: The Little Prince

Note from Josh: I’ve tried to review The Little Prince several times here on the blog, but I never get it right. Some people love the book, some hate it. I love it, but luckily, I’ve gotten someone else to finally do a review of it.

Guest Post by Dayana Jardim

A pilot who crashed in the Sahara Desert meets a peculiar Little Prince from an unknown planet, and soon they began a friendship that will last forever.

The story begins with the Pilot reflecting on his childhood dream to become an artist and how the adults who surrounded him when he was just seven years old persuaded him to take another career path, leaving him frustrated.

When his plane crashes in the Sahara, he meets the Little Prince who introduces himself  and demands that the pilot to draw him a sheep. Intrigued by this character and also curious of the outcome, the pilot soon engages in a friendship with the Little Prince, who begs to share his stories about his tiny planet with three volcanoes and his experiences while traveling to Earth.

The Little Prince shares fascinating stories with the pilot, revealing each day a little bit more about his life and his endless love for a not-too-modest but beautiful flower.

I could not stop reading this book, every chapter is like a teaspoon of everyday life with a message that leaves you reflecting about your own life…in a good way.

Antoine De Saint-Exupery wrote this book with simple language, almost effortless but with a deeply powerful meaning in every sentence; it is not only a book easy to read for children but has something for all ages.

Despite Exupery’s claims that this book is for children, he also said “this is a book for the child every adult has inside,”  which I strongly agree with. Any Little Prince summary has to leave things out, and what gets lost in the summary is the depth that the book holds for anyone will to read and reread it.

Trust me, if you read this book you will be entertained, fascinated, overwhelmed, you will laugh to tears but above all, you will start asking yourself questions while gazing at the stars. If you’re curious to find out the questions I am referring to, get yourself a copy of The Little Prince and enjoy a good book that you will never regret reading.

About The Author:

Dayana Jardim is a journalist living in the UK. She wrote a novel at the age of 9, which makes her pretty cool.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Hilary May 8, 2010, 12:47 am

    Hi Josh and Dayana .. sounds as though it could send us off on lots of creative thoughts .. I’ll be interested to read it –

    Thanks – have good weekends .. Hilary

  • Booklover May 8, 2010, 8:12 am

    I does indeed sound very intriguing. I’ll wait for it to become avail in India !

    Book Reviews

  • ami May 8, 2010, 8:57 am

    This may have been the only book I understood in my French classes 🙂

    But it was sweet and both simple and deep – and provoked a lot of questions and thinking. While the story line will engage kids, much of the philosophy that comes through seems more appropriate for older minds. The sweetness will touch everyone.

  • Larissa May 8, 2010, 11:09 am

    I had fun reading The Little Prince with my boys last year. There was much of it that flew over their heads, but the illustrations and cast of characters kept them interested. 🙂 This is definitely one of those books that will touch you in a different way each time you read it. I don’t ever want to be so grown-up that I can’t see sheep through the walls of boxes and elephants inside of boa constrictors. .

  • Karen May 9, 2010, 9:28 am

    Hi Dayana,

    This book has been on my Amazon wishlist for ever. I’ve never read about it but have heard it mentioned and recommended for many years. Thanks for the review – I’m going to finally order it and read for myself what others see in the book.

    Thanks,
    Karen

  • Farnoosh ~ Prolific Living May 9, 2010, 9:08 pm

    Le Petit Prince….oui….c’est un livre tres bien ecrit… 😉 Ok ok I will switch to English but this is one great book. I have a lot of French influence in my upbringing so naturally,I have had and read this book which is the bible of French education (more informal kind) and yes, so many true stories in the Little Prince. I think at first the Prince just got on my nerves but I am older now and I can appreciate every word. Thank you for doing an unusual book review here…!

  • Jill Jackard July 14, 2010, 1:44 pm

    I recently self-published a novella entitled “Believing Bones.” “The Little Prince” was always one of my favorite books and so I wanted to write a book that that would hopefully touch people’s lives in the way that “The Little Prince” touched mine. My novella is available on Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble.com. I received my first book review in April from Midwest Book Review and it is on Amazon under my books information. Anyway, I am looking for some more reviews, so if anyone is interested in reading “Believing Bones” and submitting a review to Amazon that would be great. I have a few copies set aside for this. Feel free to e-mail me and I can send you a copy. I’m just starting to try and get my novella out there.

    Jill

    • Anon October 16, 2011, 11:41 pm

      Hello Jill:

      While Googling for something completely unrelated, I happened upon World’s Strongest Librarian’s blog.

      I do not know if you are already familiar with the website http://www.goodreads.com/ but if not, you may wish to consider its “List a Giveaway” option as another means with which to promote “Believing Bones” to a wider audience.

      As your message appears to be one of faith, hope and perseverance — and how we interpret the divined happenstances in our lives — my sense is a greater number of readers perhaps await knowing of your book still.

      Good luck… and, Yes, good reads!

    • judi sammons April 20, 2012, 6:45 pm

      Jill I am interested in reading Believing Bones, how do I get a copy to review? How did Little Prince move you towards writing your novella?
      Judi

  • sreeram August 5, 2012, 5:44 am

    awesome